Beth Jeans Houghton & The Hooves of Destiny (what a name for a start…)

Ok so after not really paying too much attention to the hype surrounding Beth Jeans Houghton all over the internet and the radio, I have now seen the error of my ways and am now prepared to shout from the rooftops that the debut release from Beth Jeans Houghton & The Hooves of Destiny is perhaps the record I’ve been waiting for, it makes me so happy! I mean I’m jumping around my living room and humming along like a lunatic, it’s brilliant.

It’s called Yours Truly Cellophane Nose, apparently this came from some in joke a while back when the album was actually being recorded. In a recent interview with DIY she said it felt like they should be working on their third album by now, as they released their debut EP Hot Toast Vol. 1 in 2009. This sparkly new offering isn’t really that new either, it was finished two years ago but illnesses within the band and contract issues pushed the release back again and again, finally though Houghton signed to Mute and here we have something fantastic before our very ears, phew.

Tipped as one to watch by many a critic a few years back, this new abum proves why. It’s an orchestral event, majestic you might say. The opener Sweet Tooth Bird is set to be released as a single on 20th February, so that baby’s getting a bit of radio coverage, but more I say! Dodecahedron was released in July last year and Nightswimmer was a B-side to 2009 single Golden, plus there’s a polished version of Lilliput which had previously appeared on Houghton’s one and only EP. So she’s not a complete unknown, but it’s nice to have a big shiny LP.

The vocals have been described as thundery by For Folk’s Sake, and I can’t think of a better adjective, Beth’s voice rises and falls with the instruments, and those drums are really quite impressive, it’s all like a beautiful adventure you could have in a dream, the violins are literally singing. The strings are what make this album for me, up and down and exploding everywhere with the trumpets, I can think of nothing I don’t like on this entire record. This girl is definitely a fair match for Florence Welch, maybe, dare I say it, she could be better? Who knows, we’ll see. Her Hooves of Destiny are brilliant, I think they may have in fact made my week.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

