Game Called Life

The Big C, fantastic TV show, thirteen episodes, Laura Linney’s character dealing with a terminal cancer diagnosis. Frankly the show is my favourite new TV show, and seeing as I was far too impatient to wait for More4 to finish the season, I may have watched the lot already. It’s hilarious, Sean, Cathy’s (Laura Linney) brother and Marlene, the antisocial OAP across the road are my favourite characters. In general it’s hilarious and honest and then, whack, you care about the characters and you realise that Cathy is in fact going to die at some point, unlikely it’ll be before the end of the second season that’s been commissioned though, however there are some weepy moments in the last two episodes of the current season. Thank you Showtime for a new favourite show of the year. And for not being FOX or ABC.

Now to the actual point of this post, well the first thought that came into my head when I thought about writing one.

The theme tune to The Big C.

Game Called Life by Leftover Cuties.

I think it’s the whistling that I like, that and the fact that (although more appropriate to Cathy Jameson’s life) this song is the perfect theme tune to my life right now. Self absorbed? Probably. The video isn’t all that, spectacularly predictable, but the song is worth a listen, they have an EP out, all in a similar vein to this, with an interesting GaGa cover too, I can safely say I’m looking forward to the possibility of an album.

Leave a Reply

